The Importance of Family

“The love of family and the admiration of friends is much more important than wealth and privilege.” – Charles Kuralt

As we are in the midst of the holiday season, I thought it would be good to reflect on family and how it shapes us. Family doesn’t have to be restricted by blood. I remarked to Dwayne aka Rollo once that even if my parents didn’t instill the importance of family to me, I would have learned it from all of the gangster movies I watched. No family is perfect, but they become perfect for us.

Strengthening Bonds
The little nuances families have are what makes them ours and special. From the extra advice to the constant support, family is always there. The key is making sure we are there and present for our family as well. I say a prayer each day to be a better father, husband, son, brother, and friend. With the hope I can continue to provide what is needed for my family. I know I fall short but I am still striving to be better. For me, I do best when I take things in pieces and that’s what has been helping me. But sometimes when I put too much energy in one place, another lags behind, which is very frustrating. But I started to acknowledge the gains I’ve made and the relationships I’ve strengthened instead of looking only at the faults. As they say, when you do one thing well it is evidence you can do more things well too. The Our Great Pursuit project is a great example. The idea sprung from me getting to know Rollo better and seeing how our conversations were helping each other. It began by asking tough questions and sharing stories maybe never told before. When that much trust is given, a bond is made stronger. One of the highest compliments Rollo ever paid me was saying I was someone he would want to know and hang out with even if we weren’t family. Sounds small, but it had a great impact on illustrating how he valued our relationship. And that has made us both better in the process.

Family is Home
Family is a group of people you can always come home to no matter what. They will be there for you until the end. Sometimes they are all you have to hold onto. They are always there in the good times and they double down with you in the rough ones. Warren Buffett once said the most important business decision you make is picking your life partner. Because they will either build you up or tear you down, and ultimately help shape your success regardless of the endeavor. I am thankful to have a wife who builds me up each day and a family that has shaped me into the man I am today and is always in my corner.

What has your family done for you?

Leave a Reply

